GPS-tracking, architecture with many sensors, users

Hello!
I am new to Cesium and have a project on the table where we would like to get some ideas on:

What is the best solution to build a GPS tracking system in 3D with

• up to 10’000 sensors
  • up to 10’000 simultaneous viewers
  • high frequency updates (for position and viewer - <10 sec)
  • show history or live (slider)
  • dynamic selection of sensors (List of 1-10’000 sensors)

A first idea was to store all the sensor-data in a PostGIS and create a vector tile (how to update?) from there, but may be there’s a better solution for this?

Thanks for feedback,

Toni

Hiya,

Well, there’s really too many ways to slice and dice something like this, but I’d pay attention to any real-time / near-real-time needs. There’s a lot of sensors, and if they are all updated every 10 seconds you have a nightmare on your hands. But a few questions;

1. Are all sensors on the map at the same time? Are all sensors in view on the map at the same time?

2. What is the purpose of the requirement to have them update every < 10secs? Technical? Human? Guesswork?

I don’t think database or tech matters, it’s more about technique. I’d stuff them in a db, and the app I would create a map object packaged with all current sensors, and then use WebSockets to add/update/remove sensors / coord as needed. I’d invest some time in change detection on the back-end that only sends WebSockets when they are relevant (ie. when changes large enough to warrant an update happens).

On the Cesium side I’d go with primitives that I’d manage myself (the wrapper API can get a bit slow on large sets of entities), and I’d use a mixture of distance styling and clustering. The rest should be fairly straight forward.

But do tell more! :slight_smile:

Cheers,

Alex

Hi Alex,
Thank you for your ideas.

The sensors are used for sport-events. They should all follow the same course.