Camera heading and pitch

Hi,

Im new to Cesium and Im trying to visualize the flight of a octocopter by adjusting the internal camera of Cesium by providing the angle of heading (related to North) and pitch (related to horizontal axis) from real world data.

As a good starting point I found the following procedures, which are setting the camera to a initial position (lat/lng) and adjust the camera to its horizontal view looking to north. Thats fine.

Right now, Im stucking in to set heading and pitch (in degrees). Seems to be a bit more complicated that expected ;-))) Well, would be great, if somebody could give me a little hint on this, so that I can dive in a bit more in detail.

Many thanks in advance....

Markus

function flyToMyLocation(scene) {
        function fly(position) {
            var destination = Cesium.Cartographic.fromDegrees(8.660210734815337,51.93550431582044, 500.0);
            destination = ellipsoid.cartographicToCartesian(destination);
            var flight = Cesium.CameraFlightPath.createAnimation(scene, {
                destination : destination
            });
            scene.getAnimations().add(flight);
        }
        navigator.geolocation.getCurrentPosition(fly);
    }

function setCamera(scene) {
        var camera = scene.getCamera();
                camera.controller.lookAt(
                ellipsoid.cartographicToCartesian(Cesium.Cartographic.fromDegrees(8.660210734815337,51.93550431582044, 600.0)),
                ellipsoid.cartographicToCartesian(Cesium.Cartographic.fromDegrees(0,90, 600.0)), // look to North
                Cesium.Cartesian3.UNIT_Z);
    }

Hi Markus,

Did you try setting the heading property on the CameraController? Try:

camera.controller.heading = Cesium.Math.toRadians(angle);

I believe you can change the pitch using the look functions. Try one of these:

camera.controller.lookUp

camera.controller.lookDown

Dan

Hi Dan,