Cesium Entity Plane

Hi , I am new to Cesium and having a bit of issue. Imagine having an entity in CesiumJS which has position and orientation. How can we get or create a plane for this entity ? The idea is that plane should be oriented and positioned based on entity. In entity documentation there is plane property which is supposed to create this plane but I can’t figure out how to do it without having information about normal vector. Basically I want a plane like screenshot below for the box where I have put image as material on top of it.

@Shafi_Bajauri

Welcome to the community :confetti_ball: and thank you for the detailed post.

To better answer your question, a little bit more context might be helpful. Can you provide some details on what kind of entity you are referring to?

Generally speaking, the Plane property seems like the correct member to use for this application. For your reference, here is the Plane documentation:

https://cesium.com/learn/cesiumjs/ref-doc/Plane.html?classFilter=plane

The normal vector to a surface is a vector that is perpendicular to the surface at a given point. See n:

Here is further information about the normal:

https://mathworld.wolfram.com/NormalVector.html

In this case, you can use the normal to dictate how the Plane is oriented. If you set the normal correctly, you should get the result shown in your screenshot. Let me know if you have any other questions or concerns.

-Sam

Hi and thanks for the reply. I have a box with dimensions (1.0, 1.0, 0.0) which basically looks like a 2D polygon. As material of this box I have used an image. As you can see, in screenshot above there are two boxes with images. And of course these boxes have position and orientation as well.

So now having position and orientation information is it possible to create a plane for an entity or still the normal vector of plane should be defined as property for entity ?