Custom Post Process filters

Hey guys,

I am a summer student at NICTA, working with Chris Cooper on Doarama. I am getting myself acquainted with Cesium and WebGL so I might have quite a lot of questions in the near future.

I am currently trying to integrate custom post-process filters with the current Cesium master. I found the SunPostProcess integration in Scene.js and I have based my filter integration on this. I have added a few lines to scene.render() in my fork here…

https://github.com/craigsketchley/cesium/blob/postProcess-hook/Source/Scene/Scene.js#L890

I ended up disabling the sun for this implementation. To enable the custom post process, you define the scene.customPostProcess as a CustomPostProcess object, found here…

https://github.com/craigsketchley/cesium/blob/postProcess-hook/Source/Scene/CustomPostProcess.js

What do you think? It would be great to get some feedback. Would there be a much easier way to do this? How could I add a post process filter without disabling the sun?

Hi Craig,

Awesome. Nice to meet you. A few comments:

• We are changing renderer commands a bit and this will require some minor changes on your end. See #1340.
  • I have an old start to a post-processing framework in the postprocess branch. This is what Doarama originally used. From looking at CustomPostProcess.js, it looks like you already found it.
  • We also have an initial design for post-processing here. I’d want to revisit this before advocating it.
  • If you don’t have a background in computer graphics, I love Eric Haines’ free Udacity course. We also have some recommended reading on the tech used by Cesium.
    Is this something you plan to contribute back to Cesium? If you and Chris are up for it, I’m happy to collaborate more here.

Patrick

Hi Patrick,

Thanks for getting back to me. Nice to meet you too. That Udacity course is great, thanks for the recommendation. I’m working my way through them and learning a lot.