Determine if there is functional terrain loaded

1. A concise explanation of the problem you’re experiencing.

We have a couple of context menu options that need to be enabled/disabled based on whether or not we have functional terrain. Outside of calling something like sampleTerrain to get the height at our object’s point, I haven’t found a way to verify the terrain is functional. Since sampleTerrain just returns 0 when there’s no terrain, we would end up disabling the context menu options for something that happens to be at sea level when we do have terrain.

I thought I would be able to use the ready property on a terrain provider to know if it was working, but I found that it returns true whether it works or not. I’m wondering if there’s a simple flag or non-computational-heavy method that can be checked. If there isn’t, is there something I can use in conjunction with sampleTerrain to avoid the sea level conflict?

I’m pretty new to Cesium in general, so I’ve been poking my way around and Googling with little luck.

2. A minimal code example. If you’ve found a bug, this helps us reproduce and repair it.

Since I’m checking the height, I’m currently using:

Cesium.sampleTerrain(terrainProvider, 1, positions);

3. Context. Why do you need to do this? We might know a better way to accomplish your goal.

In order to determine if specific context menu options that are dependent on terrain can be turned on or not.

4. The Cesium version you’re using, your operating system and browser.

Version 1.62, Windows 10, Chrome/Chromium

Can you elaborate a bit more on what you mean by functional terrain? You can check if the terrain tiles have loaded yet using this boolean on the Globe instance:

https://cesium.com/docs/cesiumjs-ref-doc/Globe.html?classFilter=globe#tilesLoaded

This will be true once a scene is complete, and become false again if the camera moves and new tiles need to be requested.