Entity animation with cartesian derivatives

Dear All,

I am quite new to Cesium and this is probably just a case of me being stupid.

I am trying to ‘move’ an entity with Cartesian3Velocity coordinates.

From what I can see, if I have a point (entity) with Cartesian coordinates [x,y,z] and derivatives [dx,dy,dz] at the same point, a path and velocity could be calculated, just like the equations of constant acceleration and vector resolution.

For the life of me I cannot see a way of doing this in Cesium. I have done copious reading on the forums and in the documentation, but in all cases I have been told that in order to ‘move’ an entity, I need time and position samples in order to interpolate. Unless I am very much missing the point, this renders the derivative elements in the cartesian3Velocity array completely useless? Is there no way to transform an entity with only one data point and its derivatives?

The closest I have come to a solution is extrapolation in the SampledPositionProperty. Is this actually what I have been looking for all along, or does no function for this exist in Cesium?

I thank you in advance for trying to understand my ramblings.

Toby

Hello Toby,

We don’t have anything built in that will move an entity based on velocity. I would recommend using a SampledPositionProperty. Have you seen this interpolation example? http://cesiumjs.org/Cesium/Apps/Sandcastle/index.html?src=Interpolation.html&label=Showcases

Best,

Hannah

Currently, velocity information is only used as an option to improve interpolation results with the Hermite interpolation algorithm. There is currently no way to obtain the values of derivatives from SampledProperty, though this would be a welcome addition in the future.