Z-Fighting Issue with Points and Polylines

Hello dutiful devs and Cesium community,

This is my first post to the forum; but I've been using Cesium for my research project for the past ~5 months.

I'm experiencing annoying z-fighting issues when trying to render points (ie PointGraphics) on top of polylines (ie PolylineGraphics). It's all being done with the Entity framework, not the primitives framework. I have a video demonstration of the issue here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xvfxwwgLbRY

As you can see from the video, the points z-fight with the polylines AND with other points.

In the past when I have experienced z-fighting, my first go-to was to give each shape a different height or z-index so that they wouldn't be fighting. However, since I'm working with Points, which don't really have a height property per se, I don't know what to do. Unless I'm wrong and there is a way that I can alter the height of the points. If I could, that might elliminate point-vs-polyline z-fighting, but it wouldn't really help with point-to-point z-fighting.

Also, I have already tried giving all the entities an alpha value less than 1.0. All of the points in the video have an alpha of 0.9, and the polylines have 0.8.

Any advice that you have would be appreciated. I can provide more info if necessary.

Hello,

What kind of project are you working on? The video looks interesting

Unfortunately, we don’t have great z-order support at the moment. The best work-around for now would be to add a small height to the position of the points. Let me know if you need help with the code to do this and I’ll paste an example.

Best,

Hannah

Hello,

What kind of project are you working on? The video looks interesting