10 million of gltfs in a scene

Hi all.

I am quite new in WEB frameworks.
I have been playing with CESIUM, XEOGL, AFRAME, TREEJS and BABYLON.
My problem is quite simple.
I need to load a very complex scene composed by 10 million of gltf models.
I have headrd that this is possible using 3d TILES implementation of CESIUM, but to be frank with you, I have not been able to make it work.
With the previously mentioned WEBGL Frameworks the limit of models I have been able to visulize was about 5000 models.

I have tried to use octrees and mesh simplify options(in babylonjs) but without success. The problem is that when I start the load of the gltf models, the memory consumed by the brower increased and increased until my PC was full (I have 32GB of RAM)

The idea I had was to load all models in invisible mode and make only visible those models which are in the scope of the camera.

The point is that in CATIA I am able to load the same amount of information with CGR simplified format.

I heard that GLTF was very fast, but by now I am not really impressed.

May be my problems is that I am missing something.

The goal is to be able to load a very complex industrial assemby but though the web.

I will be waiting for your answers.

Loading millions of individual models will not work well because even models that are out of view are still loaded into memory, even if they aren’t rendered.

You should look into 3D Tiles again is this is one of the key use cases, to stream and render millions of models efficiently. Models can be batched together into the same tile to reduce the number of draw calls which will really help performance. Also tiles are only loaded as they come in view, and unloaded when out of view depending on cache settings, so the memory situation will be much improved.

Right now we are developing tiling tools for large datasets like this and would be happy to try out your data. If you’d like, you can send it to me at slilley@agi.com.