Application for GSOC 2015

Hello,

My name is Yibin Liao. I’m a graduate student at the University of Georgia, USA.

I’m very interested in the project “Cesium demos pack”, and I have several questions:

1. I know the application starts tomorrow, is this too late to discuss some ideas for the project?

2. I saw a bunch of ideas under the project “Cesium demos pack”, how many available slots of this project can we apply?

3. I’m very interested in doing some projects with HTML5 and Cesium. Some HTML5 APIs such as video and geolocation are mentioned in the web page. Is that OK to work with some other APIs such as canvas? I’m wondering if it is possible to write a HTML5-based 3D game with Cesium or combine Cesium with other 3D frameworks such as Three.js. If yes, I would like to write some cool HTML5 games with Cesium as a demo to show that the Cesium could also be used as a 3D game engine, like Three.js. If this is hard to implement, I can go back to the list and think more about how to interact with other APIs.

I’m looking forward to any advice.

Best Regards,

Yibin Liao

Computer Science Department

University of Georgia

tigerlyb@gmail.com

Homepage: http://cobweb.cs.uga.edu/~liao/

1. Certainly not, and even once applications are closed general discussion of Cesium features or ideas is always welcome.

2. As many as you are comfortable with, it’s pretty open ended. That being said, we would rather have someone have one really well thought out idea than multiple ideas that aren’t well fleshed out.

3. Cesium is heavily customizable and it may certainly be possible to integrate with Three in a number of ways, such as mapping Three ObjLoaders to Cesium Geoemtry or by doing direct webGL-level integration. It all depends on your skill level. Three integration might be very difficult to pull off unless you have good graphics programming experience, so keep that in mind when you apply.