Can we calculate the depth of the rendered scene effeciently?

Hello, everyone!
I am a layman for the Cesium.

I want to get the depth of the mesh scene rendered on my screen. Currently, I can only use the function viewer.scene.pickPosition() to get each pixel’s depth of the window. But the whole computation of all pixels is time-consuming.

Is there any way to get the whole depth of the current mesh scene at one time?

Thanks and best regards,

Eric.

Hi @EricLee,

This is a great question! It seems like you are looking for a way to query through each pixel in a scene. I am not sure if our API supports a “simple” way of achieving this functionality. I’d love to learn more about the method that you are currently using to do this. What are you planning to do with the depth data that you generate? What do you mean by whole depth?

-Sam

Dear Sam,

Thanks for your attention. Currently, I just use your functions “var intersection=viewer.scene.pickPosition()” and “Cesium.Cartesian3.distance(viewer.camera.position, intersection)” to get each pixel’s depth of the rendered scene. I can use a loop to get the depths of all pixels. However, each iteration may cost around 20 ms. The time cost cannot be affordable if I want to calculate multiple scenes.

Actually, I want to know when the platform initially renders the mesh scene, does it contain the depth information of the whole scene? If it exists, we may collect it at one time. Otherwise, do you have any ideas to help realize it? or can you recommend some? Haha. Many thanks.

I want to get some RGBD datasets of the urban scene for some research use. Depth is another semantics to help the urban understanding.

Thanks and best regards,

Eric.

@EricLee

Your current solution seems intuitive to me. While it is costly in terms of runtime, I am not sure if there is a more efficient workaround.