Cesium.CesiumMath.toDegrees() unable to read property from a Cartesian position

Hi All,

I am a student completing a masters dissertation at UCL in London.

I’m using Cesium to try and display and (hopefully) perform analysis on a 3D City Mesh (3D tileset .b3dm).

I am new to Cesium and have limited programming experience so please forgive any naivety in this post.

At the moment I am trying to get the position of where a user clicks with the left mouse button. This is with the view to add two points and then measure the distance between them, to say measure the height of a building in the model/mesh.

I have so far been able to get the position in Cartesian coordinates using scene.pick() and then convert these to Cartographic coordinates using Cesium.Cartographic.fromCartesian().

However, when the user clicks on a point on the model I want the coordinates they have click on to be displayed in a label.

I am trying to use Cesium.CesiumMath.toDegrees(‘The cartographic position’.longitude/latitude) to extract the long and lat values to display in the label.

When I do this I am getting an error in the console when I do this saying 'Uncaught TypeError: Cannot read property ‘toDegrees of undefined’.

To me this seems to suggest that the Cartogaphic position returned from Cesium.Cartographic.fromCartesian() is giving the type error when this is used with Cesium.CesiumMath.toDegrees()?

I know in the Cesium Docs it states when using scene.pick() method on a 3D Tiles Tileset a Cesium3DTileFeature object will be returned so maybe this could be the issue too?

Any help would be highly appreciated.

Cheers,

Chris

Please see my code below along with the console messages. Debugging being done in Sandcastle running locally currently.

var viewer = new Cesium.Viewer(‘cesiumContainer’);

var scene = viewer.scene;

// Creates an empty variable for the click event handler and the cartogrpahic position of mouse click

var handler;

var cartographic;