cesium in an offline android app

Hi,

I want to use cesium in an offline android app that shows travel routes for users in areas with poor connectivity or with no internet access.

For that, I plan to implement custom local imagery and terrain server and to wrap cesium with java.
I do this because I have good experience with Cesium, and because it will simplify the development workflow of desktop and mobile versions.
Since I have no experience with such kind of work (cesium in android, offline, etc.), I want to ask if someone have experience or have any insights/caveats which could help me in this mission.

Any help would be welcome.

Thanks a lot, and keep up the good work.

Hi,
I have been doing it for the past few weeks and I can assure you that it is not very difficult to do.

Part one of the solution is to getting Cesium running on your laptop, which you say you are comfortable with. Host your application on the webserver and note the url at which it is hosted (don’t worry about the IP part as yet).

Part two is connecting both, your laptop as well as your android device to the same wifi hotspot (not necessary for it to be connected to the internet). I do it using a USB modem that needs a SIM to connect to the internet. I don’t use it to connect it to the internet though. When both my devices are connected to the hotspot, I run ipconfig (sudo ifconfig if using linux) on the laptop and note the local IP that is assigned to the machine (it will be 192.168.XXX.YYY).

Last step is to fire up the browser on the Android phone and point it to the application on the Laptop viz http://192.168.XXX.YYY/Cesium/MyApplication.html

Done.

Cheers!

Hi Gaurav,
Many thanks for this guide... It's a good starting point.

Do you have any experience with offline on android?

There are many programs for offline map caching for android, and I deliberating what is the best approach: