ElevationRamp inside the polygon

My issue:
Create a polygon on the terrain - color the area inside the polygon like ElevationRamp for a globe or like a height-depending-heatmaps.

What I know for now:

1. There is no ready solution out-of-the-box: Question: elevationramp-to-polyline
  2. It is possible: Looks like appropriate example
  3. I’ve already read about fabric and custom appearances
  4. I’m studying a basic of shaders.
  5. I’ve investigated this shaders example.

What I don’t know for now:
How to use my new knowledges on the practice (I’m new in the Cesium and some things are not very clear for me yet, but I’m working on it :slight_smile: ).

So, my questions are:

1. Is my direction (to use fabric / appearance / shaders) is right?
    If no:
  2. Could you advice me something other that can help?
    If yes:
  3. Should I write everything (shaders, material, etc.) from scratch?
    or
  4. Can I combine something ready (ex., something from GlobeFS.glsl or something) with new fabric or appearance?
  5. Does all kinds of primitives and entities can be used in this case?
  6. Could you share any appropriate examples?

Thanks in advance. I will be very appreciate for any help, explanations, conversation.

Hi!

Great to hear that you are taking steps to learn the Cesium platform.

You are right, you would need to create a custom shader to use for the MaterialProperty of the polygon.

The easiest one to use is probably a rectangle entity with a default clamped to ground property, as in this example (please select “Draw Rectangle” from the dropdown menu). The code starts on line 166.

We currently don’t have an example for this specific use case.

What kind of project are you working on? What is the motivation behind drawing a customized polygon on the terrain (instead of using globe material like in the elevation ramp example)?

Hi!

Thanks a lot for your answer!

I.