How to set Globe Anchor Pitch/Roll/Yaw (heading). Blueprint or C++

I am trying to orient things in the cesium world space through the use of the Globe anchor. Previous to this I had been setting rotations direction to the actor. This was folly as if you get far from the ellipsoid center, those rotations do not match what one might expect on a spherical earth model.

So I am attempting to wrap my head around how to do this. I have incoming data, among which is an aircraft’s attitude.

This exists on the editor when placing an actor with a GlobeAnchor:

So I thought, cool, maybe such a function exists in Blueprint or C++. Well not as such. There is SetEastSouthUpRotation but it wants a quaternion.

I’m an older computer scientist and we really didn’t get into things like quaternions beyond they are a thing. Haven’t had to deal with it ever since 1990s. All that to say, I am weak in thinking in quaternions and matrices.

Anyway, is there some guidance on how to get from pitch, roll, yaw into one of these eastsouthup rotations? I tried clicking the function in the editor which then attempted to open a source file I do not have.

My latest attempts look like this:

Doesn’t seem to do anything. I’d expect to be upside down.

It is entirely possible I am approaching this problem from completely the wrong direction, too.

I looked at the flight tracker tutorial but it leaves the attitude adjustments as, in the words of Knuth, an exercise for the reader.

EDIT: The line to the target on set east south up rotation is also from the same instance of WorldAnchor. I just wedged this stuff in above what I had already.

Hi @BDelacroix,

It looks like Make from Euler does this in the source code: UE::Math::TRotator<T>(Euler.Y, Euler.Z, Euler.X)

Which translates to this constructor, TRotator( T InPitch, T InYaw, T InRoll ). So I just want to verify that you wanted the roll to be that value. Does changing the other values make a difference?