Loading KML from String

I have a PHP script which brings back a KML document in string form using Ajax. My past workflow in Google Earth would include using parseKML to parse the text response. As I'm new to Cesium, I've been reading the KMLDataSource.js documentation in the cesium-kml branch, but I am a bit lost on what method I should use to add the KML to the map from a string. I've tried load() and loadKml(). I was wondering if anyone could point me in the right direction or let me know if I'm thinking about it completely wrong.

parametros = {
      "METADATO" : METADATO,
      "estado" : estado,
      "regcat" : regcat,
      "municipio" : municipio
};

$.ajax({
      data: parametros,
      url: '../../Database/Municipios_sinKml.php',
      type: 'get',
      dataType: 'xml',
      cache: false,
      success: function (response) {
          var dataSource = new Cesium.KmlDataSource();
          viewer.dataSources.add(dataSource);
          dataSource.loadKml(response);
      }
});

I took a look at the jQuery docs and dataSource.load(response) should be right, given the dataType ‘xml’, which seems like it should return a Document object parsed from the XML.

It could be that your KML file uses features that aren’t supported yet. The kml branch is still a work in progress.

Thanks a lot Scott for looking at this.

I modified my jQuery Ajax given your input and now it’s adding to the map via:

var kml = $.parseXML(response);

var dataSource = new Cesium.KmlDataSource();

viewer.dataSources.add(dataSource);

dataSource.load(kml);

Currently, Cesium is only loading the Placemark point though I would rather have the polygon (if loading mulitple geometries isn’t supported yet). Attached is a sample kml to see if there’s any further modifications that I might be able to do to make that happen.

I’ve tried removing the Placemark point and altitudeMode but no luck so far.

sample_kml.kml (43.2 KB)