Newbie question on dynamic data in Cesium

Hi,
I am very new to Cesium and need to answer some questions for my organization.

Background: We currently use the Google Earth plugin to display KML. Primarily we use networklinks to expose our dynamic data via webservices which can have tens of thousands of possible entities. The Google Earth plugin was selected because of its ability to handle the large amounts of entities and various update based on entity type. It is similar to the AGI KMZ for tracking satellites:
http://adn.agi.com/SatelliteDatabase/SatelliteDatabase.kmz

I stumbled upon the "Lots of Satellites" demo and have some questions about how to best expose dynamic entities into Cesium. The entities have a position in 3D space, a timestamp, and metadata associated with them.

Since we own the servers that produce our KML it would be easy to write a service that returns CZML or other data formats.

What is the status of CZML "external links"? the last posts in this group seem to end last August 2012. Is this feature implemented yet?

The "Simple CZML Demo" dynamically loads CZML from the server based on button clicks which implies that a CZML could be created via a web service and periodically updated via ajax or some type of client polling. The downside is that all of the data is reloaded, including elements who may not have been updated within the time interval.

Can an element loaded from a CZML file be updated, or elements added and deleted?
The following post https://groups.google.com/forum/#!searchin/cesium-dev/czml$20update$20id/cesium-dev/n9yG6KspmVU/o53MooZrL0IJ seems to indicate that it is not yet fully implemented in Cesium.

Cheers,
Marty

Hi Marty, I’m sorry none of us ever got back to you on this. Here’s some answers to your questions.