Overlay Bing Imagery on Cesium World Terrain + OSM Buildings

Hi,

I’m new to Cesium for Unreal and was wondering is there a way to drape Bing Maps Aerial imagery over both Cesium World Terrain and the Cesium OSM Buildings (e.g. so that the buildings are coloured based on the bing imagery, rather than appearing solid white as shown in the attached screenshot?). I guess the imagery would become rather stretched draped on the building walls, but I’d be interested to see how it looks from afar.

Thanks in advance for any advice.

Hi @Luke_Mahoney,

I just so happens we added that feature in v1.8.0, which was released this week. Just copy/paste the Bing Maps overlay component from the Cesium World Terrain Actor to the Cesium OSM Buildings Actor and you should be good to go.

Kevin

2 Likes

Hi Kevin,

Thanks for getting back to me. I’ve copied the Bing Maps Aerial overlay into Cesium OCM Buildings as suggested, but I’m not seeing any change (buildings still comprise white roof and walls). Let me know if you have any ideas as to why this is the case.

Cheers,
Luke

Hi @Luke_Mahoney,

Can you double check that you’re using this week’s release? It should show up as v1.8.1 in the Plugins panel in the Editor. If not, you should be able to update through the Epic Marketplace, but you may have to restart it.

If you do have that version, then two things I can think to try: 1) check if you’re using a custom Material (the default one supports raster overlays, but a custom one might not), and 2) check if there are any warnings or errors in the Output Log.

Kevin

1 Like

Hi @Luke_Mahoney,

Was looking into a similar thing, found that if you want higher resolution of the Bing Map you can increase the Maximum Texture Size to enhance the overlay, might be useful!

Hi @Kevin_Ring, @tikitakatico,