Rhino / GH to Cesium pipeline : 3dm/JSON to 3d-tiles with metadata

Hi everyone,

I’m new to Cesium, transitioning from the world of parametric design in Rhino/Grasshopper. I’m currently working on a project where I need to generate thousands of assets parametrically using Grasshopper. The output of my script comprises a series of 3D models accompanied by associated metadata, akin to a simple JSON object.

For this project, I’m tasked with exporting these assets to Cesium, enabling them to be viewed online collectively. These 3D models represent various real-world objects such as lights, switches, and furniture. They will be displayed alongside a 3D point cloud for visualization purposes. Ideally, users should be able to click on a model to view its associated metadata.

However, navigating the complexities of the 3D Tiles world has left me feeling more confused than ever. I’ve read the documentation here about metadata, but I still have several queries:

1. Contents of tileset.json vs. .gltf/.glb files: Could someone clarify what information is typically stored in the tileset.json file versus what’s contained within the individual tile .gltf files?
  2. Programming Tools for Metadata Integration: Are there programming tools available to facilitate the addition of metadata? I’m looking for ways to automate this process within my existing workflow.
  3. Encoding to GLB: I’ve encountered challenges when attempting to manually modify the GLB header. What methods or tools should I use to produce GLB files effectively?
  4. Where to test : I’ve tried babylon.js sandbox to check for metadata presence in my attempts, but so far no success. What’s the best way to verify the presence of metadata and eventually troubleshoot ?

Thanks a million times for your help and support,