Some doubts about terrain provider data structure

Hello,
I’m new to Cesium, so forgive the basic question I’m submitting.

We need to define our own terrain provider to serve highly detailed elevation data.

I’ve read the documentation and the four providers which Cesium provide, but I’m not sure about the effects and the appropriate options to define.

1 - the heightmapwidth: it defines the number of vertices in each tile, right? What is the effect of changing it? I mean, if my tile is 256x256 pixels and I can serve a height value at each pixel, should I set it to 256?

2 - stride/elementsPerHeight: aren’t they dependent? If I have 2 elements per height, doesn’t it follow that the stride is 3?

3 - elementMultiplier: this is quite obscure to me… It multiplies the values of height of each element, just in case stride is > 1. What is the benefit of having this multiplier? Just to manage the cases of values that don’t fit a Uint16?

Thansk for your precious help,

Giovanni

Hi Giovanni,

1. _heightmapWidth (as seen in CesiumTerrainProvider) controls level-of-detail selection. If the least-detailed level of the tile pyramid, level zero, has a width of 256 vertices, then that tile has less error (relative to the most-detail terrain surface) than a tile that has only 65 vertices. With a heightmap, we don’t know precisely how much error the tile has in either case. But the width is an input to TerrainProvider.getEstimatedLevelZeroGEometricErrorForAHeightmap, which, as the name implies, comes up with an estimate. The value you use here doesn’t strictly have to be the same as your actual heightmap width, but it usually should be.