Cesium animation and event timeline

Good morning all,

Cesium is driving my animation of the Battle of Mons (the first battle between Britain and Germany during the Great War). If you click through you’ll see where things currently stand. You will also see that the animation is crying out for a description or context.

I would like to create a text box whose text (or even a timeline of entries that expand to a larger text box) scroll along with the time in the Cesium animation. For example, if the user is looking at 10:00 AM on August 23rd, the text box will display all of the timestamped entries on or around 1914-08-23 10:00:00.

I see that D3 might be an option.

Have you any thoughts about what I’ve described? Do you know of examples where Cesium’s time slider controls an external timeline? Do you recommend a js library?

All thoughts greatly appreciated. Cheers, erik

Hi,

I’m extremely new to Cesium, so this probably isn’t what you are looking for, but I noticed in the visualizing spatial data tutorial you can create a box with text. Then you might be able to take the timeline output and assign that to a variable inside that box. Hope you the best of luck.

Cesium is drawn on a HTML5 canvas. You can place an HTML element over it, such as a div. Just make sure the http://www.w3schools.com/cssref/pr_pos_z-index.asp is high enough so that it is visible. You can even make it transparent http://www.w3schools.com/css/css_image_transparency.asp .

Regarding the builtInCzml, I’m not sure how you’d tap into that data. I’m sure there’s an easy way to get the current interpolated position for a given time. Matthew Amato is probably the best person to ask.

Neat app BTW, I didn’t realize how detailed the models were until I zoomed way with an oblique view.

Thanks Hyper and Akemi.

Food for thought. Using builtInCzml to access coordinate-less data in an accompanying table would be slick. I can see several possibilities.