KML does not load when using a drop-down list

I am new to Cesium so excuse this question which may have a very simple solution. I am trying to create a drop-down layer list as in this Sandcastle example. I changed the first entry to “Ports”, adding a kml file I created. However, the code does not work when I add this data source, so I am not sure what I am doing wrong as I only changed the data source path and the text to show on the drop-down list. Please let me know if you have any suggestions on what I am doing wrong here.
Sandcastle link

1 Like

@JC_2021

This is a great question! Thank you for bringing it to the community. In your sandcastle demo, I see that you added the following code.

{
  text: "Ports",
  onselect: function () {
    viewer.camera.flyHome(0);
    viewer.dataSources.add(
      Cesium.KmlDataSource.load(
        "C:/Cesium/Ports_exp.kml",
        options
      )
    );
  },
},

We are getting the error Request has failed. I suspect that CesiumJS is unable to find your file. I would double-check to ensure that you are adding the correct directory for your file.

A more robust alternative would be to upload your data to Cesium ion. Once your data is uploaded, select “Open a complete code example”

Upon opening the complete code example, you should see the following variable named promise.

var promise = Cesium.IonResource.fromAssetId(########)
  .then(function (resource) {
    return Cesium.KmlDataSource.load(resource, {
      camera: viewer.scene.camera,
      canvas: viewer.scene.canvas,
    });
  })
  .then(function (dataSource) {
    return viewer.dataSources.add(dataSource);
  })
  .then(function (dataSource) {
    return viewer.zoomTo(dataSource);
  })
  .otherwise(function (error) {
    console.log(error);
  });

In the CesiumJS documentation, we see that KmlDataSource.load() takes a promise.

https://cesium.com/learn/cesiumjs/ref-doc/KmlDataSource.html?classFilter=kmldata