The Docs in General, Flight Paths

Hi again,

So I’m on the last stage of my app. It’s a total beginner app.

The truth is I’ve had a really hard time with the docs. I can’t tell you how many times I’ve read this and that but I’m not really getting a full picture of how to do what I’d like to do. I know there’s tons of you out there that’ve been at this for a while and are making really great stuff … but from my perspective it feels like there’s a million different parts to the docs and it’s hard to tell how they all fit into one, bigger idea. Or multiple, bigger ideas that enable you to do multiple, different things.

For example, I can’t find in the docs where it explains how you create an animation to fly from point a ( x, y, z) to point b (x, y, x). I can find plenty of little pieces, but not a thorough documentation.

That said, I totally love Cesium. I wouldn’t be here posting if I didn’t.

If any of you know about a beginner tutorial ( not sandcastle ) … for creating flight animations, moving in space ( I put together the biggest hack … basically a function that just keeps calling itself to move the camera ). please do post. Also, SandCastle is awesome. Really awesome! But if anyone knows where I might more documentation on things like creating a flight path in space and then triggering the flight, etc.

Hope this came off okay.

Muchas Gracias!

Scott

Hi Scott,

It doesn’t answer all your questions, but have you seen the camera tutorial?

Here is a code sample for flying between two points. Copy and paste this into Sandcastle. The fromDegrees function takes longitude, latitude, and height in meters.

var viewer = new Cesium.Viewer(‘cesiumContainer’);

var camera = viewer.scene.camera;

camera.lookAt(

Cesium.Cartesian3.fromDegrees(-75.59777, 40.03883, 15000.0),

Cesium.Cartesian3.ZERO,

Cesium.Cartesian3.UNIT_Z);

camera.flyTo({

destination : Cesium.Cartesian3.fromDegrees(-117.16, 32.71, 15000.0),

duration : 4.0,

});