colada to gltf issues

Hello, I am a newbie here. The issue that I wanted to point out is:
-I have used CityEngine 2012 to create a model and have exported it as colada.
Now I want to use it with Colada for visualization purpose.
- When I drag and drop the Colada file in the online converter, my browser, Chrome crashes.
- The size of my colada file is about 44 MB after compression.
Is it owing to the size of the file? or is it because of some export glitches?

Thanks in advance.

-Avikesh Aaron Pradhan

Hi Avikesh,

Have you tried with a smaller COLLADA model exported from CityEngine?

Have you looked at the troubleshooting section of the tutorial?

Can you share the model with us for debugging?

Thanks,

Patrick

Hi Patrick,
I was able to successfully reduce the size of the collada using smaller textures from City engine, and the online conversion from collada to gltf ran like a dream.
But i have hit a few glitches :
1. The converted gltf doesn't get displayed in the 3D Model example of SandCastle. ( I tried the same procedure, placed the models in the sample data folder and changed the path to access it, yet to no avail)
2. Elsewhere, while integrating a wms layer from geoserver into the WMS example sandcastle, there is this problem that can be termed as partial globe as only one half of the natural earth texture is being shown in the globe.

If you could kindly look into it.
Thanks,
Avikesh

Hi Avikesh,

I looked at this model. The .dae loads in Visual Studio, but I believe the scale is very small as navigation is awkward. In Cesium, I turned up the scale, but still didn’t see it. I also tweaked the shader and checked the render state (both common COLLADA export issues) but it still didn’t appear. I don’t have any more time to investigate.

This is either a CityEngine export or a COLLADA-to-glTF converter issue. I submitted #350. Can I share the model with the maintainer of that project?