Crashes possibly due to plugin tile loading (UE5)

I’m a relatively new Unreal developer and I love cesium so far. My main issue is that when the flight simulator is run, the program has a 1/3 chance of crashing, which I think is due to my computer trying to load so many tiles (or perhaps the whole map) at once.

I’m running a PC with NVIDIA GeForce RTX 3080 and 32Gb RAM so I wouldn’t expect it to be crashing so easily. If it’s helpful, here are my Cesium World Terrain tile loading settings:

Preload Ancestors: False
Preload Siblings: False
Forbid Holes: False
Max. Simult. Tiles: 10
Max. Cached Bytes: 268435456 [Default]
Loading Desc. Limit: 20

Any ideas as to why this might be happening? Is there any way to only load as much of the world as I need?

Hi @ijackson16,

Is this Cesium World Terrain, or another tileset? Have you changed the Maximum Screen Space Error property from its default (16)? It definitely shouldn’t be crashing on a system like that!

Kevin

1 Like

Hi @Kevin_Ring,

This is a Cesium World Terrain instance I’m working with (root component appears to be Tileset). I haven’t changed it from the default… Should I try to increase this number or should 16 work in general?
I can also try to send over the error message once I get another crash.

(Also, thank you for your reply! Another thing I’ve been loving about the Cesium team is how active you guys are on the forums.)

2 Likes

@Kevin_Ring @Nithin_Pranesh

I’ve reproduced the error. Here’s the resulting message:

Unhandled Exception: EXCEPTION_ACCESS_VIOLATION 0x0000000000000000

UnrealEditor_CesiumRuntime!ACesiumCreditSystem::Tick() [D:\build\U5M-Marketplace\Sync\LocalBuilds\PluginTemp\HostProject\Plugins\CesiumForUnreal\Source\CesiumRuntime\Private\CesiumCreditSystem.cpp:210]
UnrealEditor_Engine

Any advice would be really appreciated, thanks!

Stick with 16. Raising the value will result in lower detail and fewer tiles, but you should be well within the capabilities of your system at 16.