Debugging Cesium applications in Eclipse

Hi,

I am new to Cesium and fairly new to Java. I was wondering if anyone was able to build a Cesium application as a Java Executable that could be developed and debugged under Eclipse?

Thanks,

John

Have you checked out: https://github.com/richkadel/cesium-gwt?

It does wrap cesium for use in Java, but I don’t know if you’ll get full step-through debugging.

Let me know if that helps.

Thanks for writing back. I looked at gwt. The last update was 7 months ago. They support up to version 1.2.

Whatever solution is chosen it needs to be professionally supported. Since running in a web browser is not critical we are looking at Insight3d.

Thanks,

John

I’m curious what your actual use case is. Cesium and Insight3D are entirely different. Cesium is a Javascript 3D globe toolkit, while Insight3D appears to be a desktop application for image modeling.

As for the GWT aspect: GWT is a toolkit that allows you to write Java code and compile it to the equivalent Javascript for use in the browser. GWT includes a browser plugin that allows you to debug your “Java” code from any compatible Java debugger (including Eclipse), but that plugin is no longer supported by the major browsers. There’s an alternative debugging solution called “SuperDevMode” that allows you to debug the generated Javascript using standard browser debugging tools (Firebug, Chrome Dev Tools, etc), although I haven’t yet used that myself.

Cesium-GWT provides Java code that wraps around the Cesium Javascript API to allow it to interact properly with the GWT compiler. Cesium-GWT presumably hasn’t been updated in a few months, but since there’s been very few breaking changes since Cesium 1.0 came out, the existing code should work fine.

Anyway, I’m really confused what you’re actually looking for and wanting to do, based on those couple messages. Can you clarify what it is you’re trying to build?

Mark Erikson