KML + 3d Terrain datasets

Hello,

I have loaded a KML file and all works well when I do not add any terrain datasets. However, when I include a terrainProvider on my viewer instance, the following happens. The markers float around and are not anchored.

https://s3-us-west-2.amazonaws.com/teddarcuri.wannago/Cesium-Terrain-KML-bug.gif

What do I need to understand/learn/read about 3D terrain in cesium that would be causing this? Is it possible to do yet? I am a relatively experienced UI/JS developer, but am new to the 3D globe/Cesium world. Not asking for anyone to hold my hand, just hoping someone can point me in the right direction! Docs, article, whatever :slight_smile:

Thanks!

A better video: https://s3-us-west-2.amazonaws.com/teddarcuri.wannago/Cesium%2BKML%2BTerrain.mov

Also, just noticed the Cesium logo is missing from my app. This will ABSOLUTELY not be the case when this thing hits production. It was not intentionally removed :slight_smile:

Maybe because the height/elevation is 0 with no terrain and it bumps up to something like 5000 ft with terrain?

It looks like your billboards are being added below the terrain. To clam them to the terrian, use the clampToGround option:

var options = {
camera : viewer.scene.camera,
canvas : viewer.scene.canvas,
clampToGround: true
};

viewer.dataSources.add(Cesium.KmlDataSource.load(’/path/to/kml’, options));

``

Best,

Hannah

Also, we don’t require you to show our logo in your published app. But we do appreciate the attribution if you decide leave it in =)

-Hannah

Holy Moly. That was it, Hannah. Silly me.
I need to just read the docs more thoroughly! Thank you so much.

I will totally draw attention to the project as much as I can. Cesium is making my vision become a reality and I love it so so much. It blows me away how well done the whole thing is and how open/helpful y’all on the core team are.
My favorite thing in web dev right now, by far.
:v: