Please some help here!

Dear all,
Firstly, apologize me if my questions are too basic; I am not a software developer. I own a real estate website in Argentina. We want to render on the base map certain areas of our city in 3D textured meshes. We are making models through photogrammetry (mostly drone-acquired photos, Bentley’s ContextCapture software).
My developers have been doing some trials with Google’s WebGL Overlay View, three.js, gLTF files, draco compression and KTX 2.0 textures compression. They are very good, but they are not specialized in 3D graphics.
My questions are:
a) Is technology as of November 2021 sufficiently advanced in order to be able to render a city-scale photorealistic mesh in devices that are not high-end, such as regular PCs or mobiles?
b) Are we on the right/best track? Or should we be working with CesiumJs and 3D tiles?
Just a line from any expert indicating us the best path would be so much appreciated.
Best regards,
Santiago from Argentina

Hello Santiago,

Thank you for your questions. 3D Tiles is an open standard that allows 3D data to be streamed to and rendered on a wide range of devices. We have seen many successes with rendering city-scale photogrammetry in web browsers on PCs and mobile devices.

There are some photogrammetry datasets that come with a free Cesium ion account that you can examine, including these:

1. Melbourne
  2. Denver

The Denver photogrammetry was captured at three different resolutions, including sub-centimeter resolution around Union Station.

In a custom CesiumJS application, the maximumScreenSpaceError can be decreased to boost rendering quality or increased to improve performance. Here is a simple example of that.

I would also encourage you to check out our blog, which has user stories that could help you get a feel for the current state of the technology. Here is a story about data that came from ContextCapture.