Need help about Point Cloud pnts

Hi all,

I’m new in Cesium so sorry for my bad question.

My application need to render a lot of point in 3D map. (~ 100 m points at a time).

I have tried some ways and found that point cloud (pnts) may be fit my expectation about performance and memory.

I have read the document at https://github.com/AnalyticalGraphicsInc/3d-tiles/tree/master/TileFormats/PointCloud.

But I dont understand what featureTable, batchTable are?

Follow the link https://github.com/AnalyticalGraphicsInc/3d-tiles/blob/master/TileFormats/FeatureTable/README.md

I see that the featureTable has 2 parts: json, and binary. But in the example https://github.com/mattshax/cesium_pnt_generator/blob/master/RTC.js, I don’t see it.

I also see that it create a tileset.json, but I don’t know what it purpose?

Could you please help to explain how to create a pnts in details?

Thanks.

Hi Tan,

A quick breakdown of what the feature table is and what the batch table is

• Feature Table - stores per-point information like positions and colors as well as global information like number of points
  • Batch Table - stores per-point metadata. If your source data has additional properties like intensity they would go in here. The batch table is completely optional.
    Both are composed of a JSON section describing what is contained in the binary section, include property names and byte offsets.

The RTC.js file you linked is writing to an older version of the format that did not contain a feature table or batch table. That version doesn’t load in Cesium anymore so I wouldn’t use it as a reference.

The tileset.json describes a spatial hierarchy of tiles. It allows the runtime to efficiently cull tiles that are not visible or shouldn’t be rendered because they are too far away. A dataset of 100m points will need to be broken up into separate tiles for sure. Often an octree tiling scheme is used for point clouds.