GSoC 2013 Introduction

Hello everyone,

I am a Portuguese student, currently studying Information Systems and Computer Engineering at IST (Instituto Superior Técnico) in Lisbon [http://www.ist.utl.pt/en/].

I admit that I did not know your project prior to the GSoC program but your project caught my attention, it’s an interesting field. I’ve been lurking around for a couple of days and I’m really enjoying your project.
The Geospatial project ideas seem really interesting and would be a great way to apply my JavaScript skills to a real project. Should I start focusing on a single idea already? Vector Data Visualization sounds fun and I would like to pick up one of these projects depending on interest shown by others…

So far I’ve forked your repo on GitHub and set up Eclipse for development, I’m wondering how can I strengthen my future project proposal, what can I start doing? Are there any “easy/medium” difficulty bugs or cleanup I could do to get more familiar with the code base? I’m reading Cesium’s Architecture at the moment. I would appreciate some tips.

Best regards,
André Nunes

Hi André,

Thanks for the interest. Sounds like you already made it through the Contributor’s Guide so you are off to a good start. Next, check out the references in the Ideas List for the projects that most interest you. Then I suggest discussing them on this mailing list or by emailing the mentor. As for bugs to get started, check out the GitHub issues and see what interests you. #278 sounds pretty easy even though it is not core Cesium.

Regards,

Patrick

Thanks for the tip, as you’ve probably noticed I’ve started looking into issue #89 but I’ll look into #278 as well.

I have some questions about good “commit etiquette”, should I create a branch every time I go on solving an issue?